Scientific Advisory Board

Rinad Beidas

Northwestern University

Rinad S. Beidas, PhD, is Chair and Ralph Seal Paffenbarger Professor of Medical Social Sciences at the Feinberg School of Medicine at Northwestern University.

Previously, Dr. Beidas served as founding Director of the University of Pennsylvania Implementation Science Center at the Leonard Davis Institute (PISCE@LDI) from 2017-2022 and Director of the Penn Medicine Nudge Unit (2021-2022). Dr. Beidas’s research leverages insights from implementation science and behavioral economics to make it easier for clinicians, leaders, and organizations to use best practices to improve the quality and equity of care and enhance health outcomes. She works across areas including mental health, firearm safety promotion, cancer, HIV, and cardiovascular disease and collaborates closely with key constituents, including patients, clinicians, health system leaders, payers, and policymakers. 

As an international leader in implementation science, Rinad has published over 300 peer-reviewed publications in journals such as JAMA, NEJM Catalyst, and Implementation Science. She has led two NIH centers on behavioral economics and implementation science (P50 MH 113840, P50 CA 244690) and has a strong record of NIH-funded implementation research serving as MPI or PI of 11 NIH grants totaling approximately 31 million dollars.

She is an associate editor for Implementation Science and Implementation Science Communications, the flagship journals for the field. Dr. Beidas serves on the National Advisory Mental Health Council and the NASEM study, “Blueprint for a national prevention infrastructure.” Dr. Beidas holds a bachelor of arts in psychology from Colgate University and a doctorate of philosophy in psychology from Temple University. She is the recipient of a number of awards, including the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies President’s New Researcher Award; the American Psychological Foundation Diane J. Willis Early Career Award; the Perelman School of Medicine Marjorie Bowman New Investigator Research Award; and the Acenda Institute  Research Pioneer Award.